In line with the massive development of the mining industry and the establishment of an integrated industrial city dedicated to serve this industry in addition to the steady growth of the output of the petrochemical sector, in the course of implementation of the North Railway Project, Government of the Kingdom – May God protect it – has predicted the need to expand coverage of the rail network in support of these two important pillars to the Saudi national economy.

Accordingly, it was resolved to approve the creation of a package of expansion projects to achieve this goal.  The Saudi Railway Company (SAR) was commissioned the implementation of this package as part of the North Railway Project.  These expansion projects are divided into two sections:
 

Eastern Section:

This section connects the processing and export facilities at Ras Al-Khair port in the Eastern Province with King Abdul Aziz Port in Dammam, passing through the industrial city of Jubail and King Fahad Industrial and Commercial Ports, in addition to the establishment of an internal network at the Industrial City of Jubail.

Upon completion, these projects will support the facilities of petrochemicals industries in Jubail in terms of delivery of raw materials and transfer of products to different local markets and ports for export through cross-linking this network with the North Railway Project.

Due to the fact that the Saudi Government was keen to have these projects completed as soon as possible, SAR adopted the strategy duly applied to the North Railway Project, and, accordingly, this network was divided into three projects:
 

1.     Ras Al-Khair - Jubail Railway (CTW 110)

SAR seeks to link the Industrial City of Jubail and Ras Al-Khair Mining City to a railway line for the transfer of industrial products between these two cities, whereby products of the phosphate factories will be transferred from the city of Ras Al-Khair to the city of Jubail, and petrochemical materials needed by the city of Ras Al-Khair petrochemical factories will be transferred from the city of Jubail.
 

2.     Jubail - Dammam Railway (CTW120)

Through this project, cities of Jubail and Dammam will be linked with a 107 km long railway.  This line will provide commercial transport services between the ports of the Industrial City of Jubail and shipping facilities of the Saudi Railways Organization. It will also transfer products of the Industrial City of Jubail to King Fahd Industrial Port and from there to the various local markets through the North Railway Project.
Contract for the implementation of this project was awarded to a consortium consisting of Terna SA Company and Al-Omair Trading and Contracting Company for. 
 

3.     Railway Network within the Industrial City of Jubail (CTW 130)

In coordination with the Royal Commission for Jubail and Yanbu, industrial facilities at the city of Jubail will be linked to Jubail commercial port, King Fahd Industrial port,   King Abdulaziz port in Dammam, and Ras Al-Khair industrial facilities. For this purpose, an agreement No. (27-039-26) dated 13/11/2012 was entered into between the Royal Commission and SAR for the allocation of land and corridors for the establishment and operation of this railway network within the industrial city of Jubail.
 

Northern Section:

This section connects the mining city of Wa’ad Al-Shamal on the northern border with both Turaif and Al-Jawf.
The railway connecting the city of Wa’ad Al-Shamal and ancillary buildings (CTW 320 & Buildings)

مع التطور الكبير الذي شهدته صناعة التعدين وقيام مدينة صناعية متكاملة لها إضافة إلى النمو المضطرد لمخرجات قطاع البتروكيماويات، استسرفت  حكومة المملكة – حماها الله -خلال تنفيذ مشروع قطار الشمال الحاجة توسيع دائرة التغطية لشبكة الخطوط الحديدية بما يحقق دعم هذين الركيزتين الهامتين لاقتصادها. 
وعليه، جاء القرار بالموافقة على إنشاء حزمة من مشاريع التوسعة لتحقيق ذلك الهدف، و تم تكليف الشركة السعودية للخطوط الحديدية  (سار ) بتنفيذها ضمن مشروع قطار الشمال.  تنقسم مشاريع التوسعة إلى قسمين: 
الجزء الشرقي: 
يشمل هذا الجزء ربط مرافق المعالجة والتصدير في ميناء رأس الخير بالمنطقة الشرقية بميناء الملك عبد العزيز بمدينة الدمام، مروراً بمدينة الجبيل الصناعية وميناء الملك فهد الصناعي والميناء التجاري فيها، إضافة إلى إنشاء شبكة داخلية بالجبيل الصناعية.
و ستعمل هذه المشاريع عند اكتمالها على دعم مرافق صناعات البتروكيماويات بالجبيل بإيصال المواد الخام إليها و نقل منتجاتها إلى مختلف الأسواق المحلية و الموانئ بهدف التصدير عبر ربط هذه الشبكة بمشروع قطار الشمال.   
وحيث استهدفت حكومة المملكة إنجاز هذه المشاريع في أسرع مدة ممكنة فقد اتخذنا في "سار" الاستراتيجية المستدمة في مشروع قطار الشمال و تقسيم هذه الشبكة إلى ثلاثة مشاريع: 
1.    الخط الحديدي بين رأس الخير – الجبيل (CTW 110) 
نعمل في "سار" على ربط مدينتي الجبيل الصناعية ورأس الخير التعدينية بالخط الحديدي لنقل المنتجات الصناعية بينهما. وسيتم نقل منتجات مصانع الفوسفات من مدينة راس الخير إلى مدينة الجبيل، بينما سيتم نقل المواد البتروكيمائيه التي تحتاجها مصانع مدينة راس الخير في عملياتها الصناعية من المصانع البتروكيمائيه من مدينة الجبيل .
2.    الخط الحديدي بين الجبيل – الدمام(  (CTW120  
من خلال هذا المشروع سنربط مدينتي الجبيل والدمام ضمن خط حديدي يبلغ إجمالي طوله (107) كم. وسيعمل هذا الخط على خدمة النقل التجاري بين موانئ الجبيل الصناعية ومناطق الشحن بالمؤسسة العامة للخطوط الحديدية. كما سينقل منتجات مصانع مدينة الجبيل الصناعية إلى ميناء الملك فهد الصناعي و مختلف الأسواق المحلية عبر مشروع قطار الشمال. أسند تنفيذ هذا المشروع إلى تحالف  شركة تيرنا اس ايه وشركة الأومير للتجارة والمقاولات. 
3.    شبكة سكة الحديد داخل مدينة الجبيل الصناعية (CTW 130) 
التنسيق مع الهيئة الملكية للجبيل وينبع بربط مصانع مدينة الجبيل بمينائها التجاري وبميناء الملك فهد الصناعي، وربطها كذلك بميناء الملك عبدالعزيز بالدمام وبمصانع رأس الخير . اتفاقية الهيئة الملكية وشركة (سار) رقم (27-039-ب 26) وتاريخ 13/11/2012 م لتخصيص الأراضي والممرات لإنشاء وتشغيل شبكة الخطوط الحديدية داخل مدينة الجبيل الصناعية.
الجزء الشمالي : 
يشكل هذا المشروع مشاركة "سار" في تطوير مدينة وعد الشمال في الحدود الشمالية من خلال مشروع الخط الحديدي لربط المدينة والمباني التابعة له (CTW 320 & Buildings).