With a geographic area of more than 2.149 million square kilometers, Saudi Arabia occupies a strategic position linking the eastern and western parts of the world. Massive stretches of desert separate the various cities and industrial facilities in addition to the main ports of both the Arabian Gulf and the Red Sea. The soaring boom over the past decades has placed the Kingdom at the forefront of the region's economies in terms of growth, stability and productivity.  

Wealth in natural resources has also rendered the Kingdom to be a focal point for business opportunities and a fertile environment for different types of investments and development projects.
The steady increase in population and the wide range of development and economic projects boosted with the introduction of new industries such as mining, which has become the third pillar of Saudi industries, have created an urgent need for strengthening the transport sector through devising safe and environmentally friendly alternative solutions that are characterized with efficiency and high reliability in terms of their absorptive capacity and ability to meet current and future needs. 

Railways have manifested themselves as one of the key solutions and the most effective way to support the mining industry in the Kingdom, considering the huge capacity and high reliability coupled with maintaining the highest standards of security and safety, in light of the large distance between the sources of phosphate and bauxite raw materials both from the north and central regions of the Kingdom and areas of their processing and export in the Arabian Gulf.

Hence the launch of the idea of the Government of the Kingdom – may God protect it - to invest in creating infrastructure for railways to be utilized not only in support of the mining industry, but also in linking the northern and central regions with the eastern region through providing integrated transport solutions covering passengers and goods of all types along with heavy transport of minerals, petroleum and petrochemical products. 

The Saudi Railways Company (SAR) was founded in 2006 by the Public Investments Fund (PIF) in order to implement a railway project linking the northern region with both the eastern and central regions of the Kingdom, including the operation and management of the project with the necessary competence in accordance with optimal economic operating parameters, through applying state-of-the-art global standards of performance and safety.

Railways will play a prominent role in supporting the progress of the nation and diversifying sources of income in addition to nationalizing the tasks of operation and management of this sector in terms of human resources or investments in supporting industries that would create new and promising opportunities for the national young generations and achieve the principle of sustainability for the future of this sector at large.

معلومات هامة

على مساحة جغرافية تزيد عن 2.149 مليون كيلو متر مربع تشغل المملكة العربية السعودية موقعاً استراتيجياً يربط شرق العالم بغربه.  امتدادات صحراوية تفصل بين مختلف مدنها ومرافقها الصناعية الرئيسة إضافة إلى موانئها الهامة على كل من الخليج العربي و البحر الأحمر. كما أن النهضة المتصاعدة التي شهدتها خلال العقود الماضية وضعتها في مقدمة اقتصاديات المنطقة من حيث النمو والاستقرار والناتج ، بما جعل منها إضافة إلى ماتملكه من موارد طبيعية محطاً لفرص العمل و مناخاً خصباً لمختلف أنواع الاستثمارات و قيام المشاريع التنموية .

الزيادة المضطردة في عدد السكان واتساع نطاق المشاريع التنموية والاقتصادية بدخول صناعات جديدة كالتعدين التي أصبحت الركيزة الثالثة للصناعات السعودية أوجد الحاجة الماسة تدعيم قطاع النقل من خلال إيجاد حلول و بدائل آمنة وصديقة للبيئة تتسم بالكفاءة والموثوقية العالية من حيث طاقتها الاستيعابية وقدرتها على ملاقاة الاحتياج القائم والمستقبلي.

الخطوط الحديدية كانت أحد أبرز الحلول و أنجعها لدعم صناعة التعدين بالمملكة، على اعتبار الطاقة الاستيعابية الضخمة والاعتمادية العالية التي توفرها محافظة على أعلى معايرر الأمن والسلامة، أضافة إلى المسافة الكبيرة التي تفصل مناطق المواد الخام لمعادن الفوسفات والبوكسايت في كل من شمال و وسط المملكة بمناطق المعالجة والتصدير على الخليج العربي.

من هنا كانت انطلاقة الفكرة لحكومة المملكة – حماها الله – نحو الاستثمار في إيجاد بنية تحتية لخطوط حديدية لا يتم الاستفادة منها في دعم صناعة التعدين فحسب، و إنما لتطوير حلول نقل متكاملة تربط شمال و وسط المملكة بشرقها لتقدم حلول نقل متكاملة تشمل الركاب و البضائع بمختلف أشكالها إلى جانب النقل الثقيل لمنتجات للمعادن والبترول والبتروكيماويات.    
   
2006م كانت البداية مع تأسيس صندوق الاستثمارات العامة للشركة السعودية للخطوط الحديدية ( سار )، و ذلك بهدف تنفيذ مشروع خط حديدي يربط كلاً من شمال المملكة بكل من شرقة و وسطه بالإضافة إلى تشغيله وإدارته بالكفاءة اللازمة ووَفْق معايير التشغيل الاقتصادية وبحسب المقاييس العالمية في الأداء والسلامة.

الخطوط الحديدية ستلعب دوراً بارزاً في دعم نهضة الوطن و تنويع مصادر الدخل علاوة على ما سيعمل عليه توطين مهام تشغيل وإدارة هذا القطاع من حيث الموارد البشرية أو الاشتثمارات في الصناعات الداعمة له من خلق فرص واعدة لشباب الوطن و تحقيق مبدأ الاستدامة للقطاع بشكل عام في المستقبل.